Monday, 3 November 2014

Clever Tykes Book Review


Today we were very excited to receive three brand new books from an up and coming company called Clever Tykes. Their three books, Change it Cho, Code it Cody and Walk it willow are a series of story books aimed at children aged 5 to 11. They hope the books will introduce important life skills and characteristics through the characters in the stories. 

Alfie's favourite book in the series was Code it Cody. I think this was because he had a lot in common with the character in the book. Alfie is computer mad and also loves to solve problems. We discussed how in the story Cody has to work hard to win the competition, which I guess teaches the life lesson, If you want something, you have to work for it. I also noticed the story promotes team work which from own experiences growing up, this is such an important skill to have in order to become successful in life. Alfie loves this book so much to the point that he hasn't put it down since he got home from school. 

Code it Cody Synopsis:

Cody is a boy with a real talent for tech and problem-solving. Cody is well-known for his computer skills but when he encounters a problem he can’t fix, he has to seek the help of the mysterious Mr Chip! 

Mr Chip introduces Cody to the world of computer club where he meets three new friends who all love computers and want to learn even more about them. Oh, and Cody is hearing impaired. You probably wouldn’t have guessed it because he never lets it get in the way! 

When the computer club competition is announced, an excited Cody starts on a quest to research as much as possible before creating the prototype of his new computer game. He even makes sure he works hard on his creative skills to make the best game possible. After months of hard work, the moment of truth arrives, and Cody and the other computer club members have to pitch their prototypes in front of a panel of teachers! Cody’s friend Hana has produced a game the teachers will really like. Can Cody do better?

Tom chose Walk it Willow as his favourite book in the series. As you can see from the picture above, he was very focused on the story. He read the book cover to cover without putting it down. Tom is the animal lover in the family so this is probably why he loved this one so much. Walk it Willow tells the story of willow who realises that she can turn her passion into a business. This is a really important life lesson I would like my children to learn. They need to know the value of hard work and the rewards that come with it. I also liked that the story showed that it's not all ups in business, there will be downs and there will be ways to correct this. 

Walk it Willow Synopsis

Walk-it Willow is the first in the Clever Tykes series, a series of storybooks developed to introduce children to the skills and behaviour associated with entrepreneurship. The stories are suitable for children aged between 6 and 11 years old. 

Willow has a passion for dogs and loves looking after her own dog, Stomp. When a neighbour asks for her help, Willow realises that she can turn doing what she loves into a great way to earn money and help others at the same time. 

Willow learns a lot throughout the story, as she puts her skills into practise. But when she makes a mistake she faces some difficult decisions. How will she put things right, and whatever will Mr Moore say?

The final book we received was my favourite, Change it Cho. This one promotes healthy eating which I like to push on my own children. We also discussed that the story shows that if you really believe in something, you can achieve it. In this case, Cho wants the more people to eat healthy and so sets off to promote this. The biggest lesson I highlighted to my children within the book was that you are going to gets people telling you 'no' in life. If you really believe in something, you should never give up and eventually someone will listen to you. 

Change it Cho Synopsis

Change-it Cho is the third book in the Clever Tykes series. 

Cho is a feisty competitor and enjoys nothing more than beating George in races! Cho’s parents have always helped her eat healthily so when she sees kids from school eating junk food every day, Cho decides something must change. 

Cho begins raising awareness about healthy eating but gets a frosty response from the shopkeeper. After the local council tells her she can’t start her own fruit stall in the village, Cho is faced with her biggest challenge ever.

Overall we really loved each of these books. They also include some lovely illustrations which are really important in children's books to stimulate their imaginations and allows them to understand the story better. The books come in ebook and paperback form and cost £7.99 each. You can either buy them from the Clever Tykes website or from Amazon. 

Alfie also made a video on his thoughts of the books if you would like to check it out below.

Gem x
Family Fever


  1. Just came over from #triedtested Your little boys are so cute! Polly x

    1. Thank you so much :)

  2. What a lovely selection of books, I think my daughter would enjoy these. Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

  3. They are a really good read. My kids love them. :)

  4. These sound great - I love that there's a bit of purpose to them!
    Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested this week x


© Gemma The Family Girl . All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig